– The installation of special light and sound signals

In the Republic of India, the number of beacon vehicles, as per norms, at any given time should not exceed 50 in the center or in the state government.

Law, policy and rule

The list of people entitled to the colors is detailed by the central government and the state government. The law which governs the beacon and its colors is stated in clause III of rule 108, Central Motor Vehicles Rules of 1989.

Code law for beacons

In pursuance of the Central Motor Vehicles Rules 2017, the Central Government has specified which vehicle carrying the following high dignitaries shall be permitted to use:

Amber beacon

  • Fire brigade vehicles

Blue beacon

  • Ambulances
  • Police vehicles